Wellspring

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. Proverbs 4:23

Hello Out There!

on January 3, 2013

I’m so excited to be starting this!  Amy and I have been talking for a while about starting a blog for the women at Marshall Missionary Baptist and it is now coming to fruition.  (I love, love, love that phrase – coming to fruition!)  It is really for any woman or person that happens onto here.  It is for those who want to connect with each other, grow in the Lord and just have a good time. 🙂

So here we are.  We’re in a new year.  I know there are great things in store for our church this year.  I’m sure there are great things in store for each one of us. 

I’m declaring this year a year of change for me.  My biggest change is going to be that I will be a more responsible, adult like person.  Responsibility and discipline have never been my strong suits.  I read Hebrews 12:11 “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.”  and I realized I’ve been sorely lacking.  When things become unpleasant, I generally decide it’s not worth it.  Apparently I should persevere.  I think Pastor Paul said something about persevering this last Sunday.  Hmmmmm.  I will pray that His will be my will and that I am broken and made new……..and perservere 

I’m sure it will be a year of change for our church with the new building.   God has great plans in store for us.  Change is exciting, isn’t it?  It takes us to a place where we are totally dependent on Christ.  I can’t think of a better place to be.

From here on out you will find devotional type posts sprinkled with humor and humility.  We will post twice a week and shoot for Tuesdays and Thursdays. 

We will also keep you up to date on women’s events that are planned for the year.  This Friday, Jan 4th is a girls night out to celebrate Angie’s birthday with dinner and a movie .  Yay!!!!!!!   

The next Girls Night Out will be February 8th.  We will be starting out at the mall with a scavenger hunt having to do with LOVE and either Corinthians 13 or Song of Solomon.  wink, wink, nudge, nudge  Then we’ll go out to eat – of course.  What would a Girls Night Out be without food?  Really. 

Let us know if you want to see anything specific.  We love, love, love comments.  Spread the love sisters and comment. 

Hope you all have a great rest of the week and see ya soon!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

3 responses to “Hello Out There!

  1. Lori Green says:

    Congrats on the new blog. My hope is that through the Wellspring blog, we may see an ongoing collection of thoughts one for another flowing into this stream. I presume we want to inspire and encourage everyday people that their efforts and contributions can and will make a difference. Let’s then encourage the collective body to take a look around, make themselves at home and perhaps they too can share within the Wellspring.
    Our pastor, Paul is a master on content creation and understands the power of stories in the role of inspiring, engaging and bringing people along on the journey.The content you create and publish shapes how people perceive you; it shapes your brand. We may want to encourage everyone to check in often and comment or perhaps even discover that within the community of our church there are incredible stories of hope, love, miracles, transformation, breakthrough, provision, restoration, people finding purpose and so many other great stories just waiting to be told!
    Our church, then this Wellspring will be full of life; lives that are active in our community and will attract a lot of attention. May I be so bold as to suggest that this blog serve as our responsibility to get these stories out for public consumption. Stories of ordinary people loving God and loving people. Helping others find answers, hope and faith in an Almighty Living God whose name is Jesus. This then would serve for us to make some noise about our church or “our brand” so that the readers perceptions are based on this digital story, perhaps with select streams flowing out of our family of God sharing and caring for one another, a growing family helping others connect to each other, Jesus Christ, and the world.
    I loved the scripture reference: Hebrews 12:11 “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.”
    The law was given to invoke a response toward God. But people continually found it difficult to be motivated to do what was right in the Lord’s eyes. It was not yet a delight to do right.
    “But they delight in the law of The Lord, meditating on it day and night.” (Psalms 1:2 NLT)
    The law was only ever a temporary measure to help us until the way of faith could be made available in Jesus Christ. Once the way of faith was made available, we no longer need to be under the guardianship of the law.
    Jesus gave His life for us so that there may be the greatest of influences on the human heart and mind. As we live our daily routine, keeping His word before us day and night, we should be motivated with a ‘Delight to do Right’! ♥

    • sharon Wichman says:

      Lori I loved your comments, they are so true.
      Im asking for prayer for my mission trip to Haiti. Im excited and scared and prayerful, that i may do whatever the lord wants me to do, when I get there. Not sure, but believe I will be working at the orphanage.The LOrd has been calling me to missions for a while, but I believed that I needed to be here for Jacklyn. It She turned 18 on the 31st,and went to live with her mom. Thw Lord sure does work in mysterious ways. I trust Him so I know that this is what He knew would happen.
      Please pray for Jacklyn, that she will better decisions in the future.

  2. Krista Michelle says:

    ((peacefully admiring)) I love you ladies!!

Leave a Reply

