Wellspring

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. Proverbs 4:23

Release 27lbs of Fat This Month!

on January 29, 2013

Yep. It caught my attention too.  This is what I saw as I was standing in line, waiting to check out, with my groceries.   Release it?  As in, set it free?  I really wasn’t aware of the fact that I was holding my fat hostage. Who would want to do that? If am keeping it against its will, it’s completely unintentional. Are you holding yours hostage?  At any moment I expected to hear a chorus of “We Shall Overcome” by the Fat Fannies Choir.

Looking at the magazines, I saw promises of amazing weight loss in a month, 5 easy steps to organizing your house, how to turn your finances into fortunes and the key to making your marriage sizzle.  There were also some hints and tips regarding make-up, coupon clipping and being fashion forward. Who couldn’t use some advice about that?

At this point all I could say to myself was, “Holy Cow!”, so I said it.  I said it several times, but not out loud. I said it because I started looking at all the things I could “correct” in my life.  Through the magazine covers I saw things wrong in my life that I wasn’t even aware were wrong. 

Could it be possible that a few magazines hold all the answers to  lifes issues? 

You don’t have to look very far to see the world has an answer for everything.  It’s all at our fingertips.  It’s all right there in the check out aisle.  If you would like your advice to go a little deeper than a two page article, then simply check out the Self Help section of your nearest book store or library.

Have you ever looked at those sections?  My goodness!  There is so much information.  I would need a self help book on how to navigate the self help section.  All in all, I would say that most of the information is good and can get you the results you are looking for. 

Why would you want to bother looking anyplace else?

And here in lies the heart of this little rambling. 

Any one of us can create the world we want. You may be poo pooing me, but we can.  If we take the right steps, we can lose weight if we need to, make our houses amazing and achieve financial freedom.  These are all good things in and of themselves – are they not? They show a life of discipline and success. 

Do they show something else? Do they show the desires of God or the desires of the world? 

Before I continue, I don’t want you to think I’m saying a healthy weight, your money and a great house are signs of disobedience to the Lord.  He calls us to be disciplined in our lives.  Yet, if all of these are all we want, then I wonder what is at the heart of them?  Are we doing these things for the glory of God or for the glory of self. 

I sit before you typing and tell you there are most certainly things I’ve done for the glory of Elizabeth.  I mean, who doesn’t like the affirmations of others for achievements? Who doesn’t want to “fit in” with those around us?  It is easier to join the crowd than walk away from it.  I am clothed in sinful human flesh, and it often cries out to go with the tide rather than swim against it.  (That just sounds like exercise and I find it unappealing even though I know it’s beneficial.  Can I get an Amen?)

Goodness, I’ve derailed the thought train.

Here’s the gist of all this.  Whatever we are called to, we have to know that our God has all the answers.  Articles and books with directions for our lives only apply to us if we put God first.  He’s everything we need.  And while I get a little high out of reading these things and thinking all the ails in my life can be “fixed” in 5 steps and thirty days, there is only one book I need to seek for help.  The Bible has it all. I truly does. 

I will leave you with this today.  May you find encouragement and comfort in

Psalm 16

1Keep me safe, my God,
    for in you I take refuge.

I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord;
    apart from you I have no good thing.”
I say of the holy people who are in the land,
    “They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.”
Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more.
    I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods
    or take up their names on my lips.

Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;
    you make my lot secure.
The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
    surely I have a delightful inheritance.
I will praise the Lord, who counsels me;
    even at night my heart instructs me.
I keep my eyes always on the Lord.
    With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
    my body also will rest secure,
10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead,
    nor will you let your faithful[b] one see decay.
11 You make known to me the path of life;
    you will fill me with joy in your presence,
    with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

He is our portion, our cup, our counselor and gives us an inheritance.  There is no need to worry about anything. 

Go boldly into what ever he’s calling you to.  He’s got it covered.

And if you have fat that is held hostage, release it. 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

