Wellspring

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. Proverbs 4:23

True Love

on February 14, 2013

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! 

I hope it truly is a happy day for you.  Meet everyone where they are at today and don’t try to put them where you want them to be.  That will make you happier – I promise.

Ahhhhhh.  Love  is in the air today. 

True love – everyone has an idea of what they think that means.  Some may think it there is love at first sight that is true love.  Some may think true love is going through life with the same person – the good, the bad & the ugly.  Some may think true love is a feeling.  I could go on and on, (like I’m telling you something you don’t know) but I won’t.

Today I want to share with you a love story.  It’s not your typical boy meets girl love story, but I think you will be touched just the same. 

I often share with you the chaos and craziness that ensues at our house.  It’s about time I share the good things too.  I feel amazingly blessed to have the children God has given me.  So, please, don’t ever think I’m ungrateful.  I know what I’ve been given.

This love story started about 4 years ago.  It’s between Adam and his third grade teacher and God. If you are unaware, Adam is now in 6th grade.  His third grade teacher was really good.  She is reserved, matter of fact and cares deeply for her kids.  Whenever I spoke to her about him, she was always pleased with his work and told me how good she thought he was – not just grade wise.  It makes a mama smile to hear these things.  Adam had a great third grade year.  We were all pleased and blessed to have yet another wonderful teacher in our son’s life.

Because Adam is a people person, he liked to make it a point to say hi to her when he would see her.  I think she appreciated that.  Who doesn’t?

This year she moved from the third grade to librarian.  Adam is one of her library helpers.  He likes a lot.  I think he likes the responsibility and he likes to be useful.  He also enjoys her. 

Last night I was at Walmart gathering a couple of last-minute Valentine items. 

I know your saying to yourself, “I’m so surprised that Elizabeth didn’t have that done already.”  Hard to believe of me, I agree. 

So while I was gathering what I needed, I saw her.  Adam happened to be on the phone with me giving me a list of additional Valentine items he wanted.  I informed him that this was not on the same level as Christmas.  When I got off of the phone, I commented to her something that was a little sarcastic about my boys and what they wanted. 

She turned and looked at me and said, “You have good boys.”

I said I knew.  Then I threw in another “yes, but” comment about them.  We chit chatted just a bit and then we our separate ways. 

After I left her I realized that I had sounded a bit bratty.  I sounded like an ungrateful wretch.  I was sorry for how I presented myself and them. 

We met up again and I made a point to tell her I know I have good boys.  I know I’m blessed. I know they are polite, respectful, thoughtful of others and kind. (Of course this is only to the people who don’t live in our house.  What?  They can’t be perfect. Right? 🙂 ) 

This is where the story has a purpose.  Really. 

She looked at me and said, “Yes they are.  You have been blessed three times.  I can’t tell you what Adam said today because it will make me cry, but you have been blessed.”

I thanked her and my heart swelled.  I even got a lump in my throat and felt teary.

See, her mom passed away a little over a week ago.  I could only imagine what he might have said. 

I asked him this morning.  Adam told me he said, ” I prayed for you.”

I felt like this was an example of true love. It was simple, but so powerful.  He acknowledged her grief and gave her the gift of a child’s prayer.  I can’t think of love any truer than that.  Can you?

Blessings, Hugs and Abundant Love my friends, Elizabeth

PS – I didn’t ask Adam if I could share this……let’s just keep it between us in case I committed a breach of confidence. 🙂 Thank you!

2 responses to “True Love

  1. Carolyn Tingley says:

    Beautiful story. Thanks for sharing & yes I have tears in my eyes.

  2. Tammy says:

    Love it. Adam is truly a special young man.

Leave a Reply

