Wellspring

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. Proverbs 4:23

Have You Seen Your Cardiologist Lately?

on February 26, 2013

Cor 13: 1  If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.

We’ve almost wrapped up February, but not yet.  Even though Valentine’s Day was about two weeks ago, we are still in the month of love and dealing with matters of the heart.

Have you shown your love?

If you have please share.

You know, sometimes, even though we say we’re about love, we’re not so much.  Sometimes we don’t show the love that was shown to us when we were saved.  Sometimes, the love we don’t show, or withhold, is from those that are closest to us.

Yes?

Don’t even act like you don’t know what I’m talking about.  I bet you haven’t gone 3 days without snapping at a loved one you live with, have you? Well, even if it’s been more than 3 days, what do our words of hurt and bitterness say to them?

Oh how I wish we were all sitting at Starbucks having this conversation and Grande Salted Caramel Mocha!

I’ve learned in my 42 years that when bitterness leaves my mouth, it probably started in my heart.  I come to you today telling you that I have purposely said things that are hurtful to my husband and my children because I felt justified at the time. Yep, on purpose.  I felt justified to hurt them because I had been hurt.  And once in a while, they have simply been in the line of fire of an incident that had absolutely nothing to do with them.  All they heard from me was a clanging and banging of words.

I don’t suppose any of you have found yourselves in a similar situation?

How on earth can I expect for Jesus love to shine through me to others, when I’m not being who he calls me to be at home?  Isn’t that where it starts?  I’m an example for my children and they become examples for their friends.  I show them my love for my husband, then I’m hopefully demonstrating a healthy, Godly relationship that they will want for themselves. It’s a heavy responsibility.

More than it being a responsibility, it’s a calling.  A calling that started with Jesus speaking to my heart.  That’s why the heart IS the heart of the matter. Be careful to not have the beating of it sound like an empty room echoing because home is where the heart is. 🙂

I just love it when it all pulls together!

Well, I’m going to leave you now. 🙂 I need to get my heart checked.

Blessings & Hugs Sisters, Elizabeth

 

Leave a Reply

