Wellspring

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. Proverbs 4:23

Sacrifices & Letters

on March 13, 2013

Hebrews 8:10

This is the covenant I will establish with the people of Israel after that time, declares the Lord. I will put my laws in their minds and write them on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people.
 
We’ve been watching The Bible on the History channel.  We’ve been recording it on Sunday night and watching it while we eat dinner on Monday.  I like it.  It’s brought about a lot of discussion in our house.  It’s exciting to me because I know the boys are paying attention to what is going on and they are thinking. Quite a feat for three brothers sitting on the same couch for 1 and 1/2 hours.  The best part, so far, was when Aaron said, “There is a lot of sacrificing going on.  I see a theme.”  It gave us opportunity to talk the Old Testament pointing to Jesus.  And I got to throw in the literary term “foreshadowing”.  That also tickled my heart.
 
Then this morning, while I was getting ready for work, I saw a news story about George H. Bush and  letters.  A book was recently published with many of the letters he has written in his life to his wife, children, grandchildren and friends.  The story was about how he has written so many touching letters to those that matter in his life.  The letters started with love letters he wrote to Barbara during WWII to the present including letters he wrote to Bill Clinton.  Those that were shared were quite touching and heartfelt.  They are a large part of the legacy he will someday leave behind. 
 
For whatever reason, I tied these two experiences together in my mind. Letters aren’t written very much any more.  It seems like it is a sacrifice in our society to sit down and write a letter. Ashamedly, I belong to that group.  We are all about emails, blogs and texting, but putting pen to paper is an effort.  I often think about dropping a note to this person or that, but it rarely comes to fruition.  And even though I’m not very good at it, I love, love, love getting letters in the mail. 
 
There is something very personal about getting a letter.  As much as I like to talk, the written word inspires and drives me.  It’s like a little present wrapped up just for me. 🙂  And those that touch my heart, I go back and reread.  I would say letters from family and friends are some of my most cherished possessions.   There are a some from my husband that I like to break out and reread.  It is a physical reminder of what I already know.  I have letters from my dad, grandma and Aunt Dorothy I take out when I’m missing them.  They are no longer with me, but in those words they penned, it feels as though they are sitting right beside me.  My mama writes me beautiful cards that I enjoy rereading for comfort and a pick me up.  And I’ve had sweet notes from some of you as well.  I keep them all as a reminder of who I am to each of these people. 
 
And then there is The Bible.  This is the ultimate written word sometimes referred to as God’s Love Letter.  Look in the New Testament at all the letters Paul wrote to the Corinthians, Thessalonians, Philippians, Colossians and so on.  He wrote to them to let them know of his love for them and God’s love for them.  He wrote them because he was inspired by God.  He wrote them for us as well.
 
In the Old Testament, God had the prophets write things down to be passed on to generations that would come behind them.  The written word must be very important to Him.  It is how he’s chosen to communicate with us in a tangible way.  I know He communicates through prayer and the Holy Spirit, but it’s through the Bible that we are able to ingest His Word and share it with others. We can get our fill, so to speak, in a very physical way.  When we read the words, he truly enters our minds and writes on our hearts. 
 
Thank you God for inspiring the written word.  Thank you for giving me something tangible to hold on to.  Thank you for giving my mind and body the spiritual nourishment they so cry out for.  Thank you.
 
Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth
 
PS  Go drop a note to someone and make their day! 🙂 It can even be hand delivered.  I’m sure they won’t mind. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

