Wellspring

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. Proverbs 4:23

Overwhelmed

on September 7, 2014

This is what I felt at choir practice tonight.  Katie came with me to choir tonight.  What a joy!  As I sat next to her, listening to her melodic tone, I was overwhelmed with the goodness of God.    

Overwhelmed with His presence and embrace.

Overwhelmed with the mercy and grace that so freely flows from Him.

Overwhelmed with the hope He has given me.

Overwhelmed with how He heals broken people and relationships.

Overwhelmed with His love for me.  

There was a peace that surrounded me as I raised my voice in worship to Him.  I was grateful that I could express myself to Him and make a joyful noise. 🙂

About that time, Adam texted me to let me know he needed to be picked up from the youth group he had attended.  Katie graciously offered to go pick him up.  Shortly after she left, she called to tell me Adam was not getting in the van and he’d thrown a frog on the ground.  Apparently the frog had gone to the bathroom on him.  

Suddenly, I felt overwhelmed in a whole other way.  😉  Reality sucked me back into its cold, icy grip.  

We are all busy people.  We are all overwhelmed with different things in our lives that can make us feel like we’re drowning.  When we are caught up in the daily grind, it’s easy to take our focus off of what is really important.  When that happens later tonight or tomorrow morning, I hope I can remember the shelter He provides when I rejoice in Him.

I hope you are able to listen to the words of Big Daddy Weave’s Overwhelmed.  Let them envelope you and shift your focus to Him.

Blessings & Hugs,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

